Using the Correct payment methods credit note option, you can cancel a payment or make a correction, such as change an incorrect payment method. This may be needed, for example, if a client paid by cash, but the payment was accidentally added as a card payment. Cancelling payments and correcting payment methods is possible if it has been enabled in your department settings and you have the required user rights.
You can also cancel and correct payments directly on the invoice page. Note that with integrated terminal payments, the credit note Correct payment methods option is not available, but you can only cancel a payment directly from the invoice page.
If your clinic does not have payment cancellations enabled, you can still change the payment method by using the other credit note function if necessary. For more information about the different credit note options available in Provet Cloud, see Overview of Credit Notes.
Cancelling or Correcting Payments Using the Credit Note Function
- Select the Credit note button at the bottom of the invoice page.
- In the Credit note dialogue, select Correct payment methods.
- In the Correct payment methods dialogue, you can cancel or edit the invoice payments:
- To cancel a payment, select Cancel in the Action column. You can change the date if required and add information about the action. This information will be shown on the invoice row that shows the cancelled payment.
- To correct a payment, select Change in the Action column. You can edit the sum, select a new payment method and add information about the action. This information will be shown on the invoice row that shows the changed payment.
- For those payments that do not need to be cancelled or changed, select No action.
- Select Continue. The cancelled or changed payment is added on the invoice page under Payments where the whole history of payments is shown for accounting purposes (the change history is not included on the invoice printout).
Cancelling or Correcting Payments on the Invoice Page
- To cancel a payment, select the red thrash can button (1) on the payment row. If your clinic uses the prepayments function and you have the required rights, you can also transfer the refund to client prepayments using the arrows button (2).
- In the Cancel payment or Transfer payment to prepayments dialogue, select the Confirm cancelling payment / Confirm transferring to prepayments checkbox and add information about the action. This information will be shown on the invoice row that shows the cancelled payment.
- Select the date for the cancelling or transfer. By default, the original invoice date is selected.
- Select Save. The payment is added on the invoice page under Payments where the whole history of payments is shown for accounting purposes (the change history is not included on the invoice printout).
After cancelling a payment, you can add a new payment with the correct information.