The online pre-registration function allows your clients to pre-register before their appointment using an online form. Allowing clients to pre-register saves time at the reception and at the beginning of the consultation visit. It also offers clients a secure and private way to communicate their personal information which they might otherwise have to do in an open reception area.
When a client makes an online booking or an appointment is booked in the Provet Cloud appointment calendar, the appointment confirmation and reminder messages include a link to the pre-registration page where they can check their information and provide other preliminary information.
In addition, you can allow clients to check in for their appointment online. This option is available if pre-registration is in use.
Pre-registration and self check-in are add-on functions. Please contact Provet Cloud sales or customer support for more information.
Set Up Pre-Registration
- Go to Settings > General > Department > Client interactions and select Enable client pre-registration / Self check-in.
- If you use reason types, select the reason types for which you want to allow pre-registration in the Enabled for reason types field. When a reason type included here is selected for an appointment, a link to pre-registration is added to the confirmation and reminder messages. If you leave this field empty, pre-registration is available for all reason types.
- In the Pre-registration message header field you can add a header for the pre-registration section in the appointment confirmation and reminder messages. If you leave this field empty, the following default header is used: 'Continue to pre-registration'.
- In the Pre-registration message content field, you can add a body text for the pre-registration section in the appointment confirmation and reminder email messages. Note that the body text is not shown in SMS messages, only in email. If you leave this field empty, the following default text is used: 'The pre-registration feature enables a personal and data-safe way to share/update your personal details and allows for a more pleasant and quick arrival to the clinic for you and your pet.'
- In the Pre-registration form description field, you can add a custom message to the pre-registration form.
Example of a link to pre-registration in an appointment confirmation email:
Enable two-factor authentication for pre-registration: When this setting is selected, clients receive a verification code by SMS, which they must enter to access the pre-registration form. Two-factor authentication adds an extra layer of security: if the confirmation email is accidentally sent to an incorrect address, the recipient will not be able to access the pre-registration form if they cannot provide the verification code sent by SMS.
Set Up Self Check-In
- Go to Settings > General > Department > Client interactions and select Enable self check-in.
- Time in minutes before marking as arrived: With this setting, you can define how long before their appointment clients can check in. For example, if you set this setting to 30, clients cannot check in until 30 minutes before their appointment. When check-in is not yet possible, a message is shown in the appointment portal, for example: 'You can check in 30 minutes before your appointment.'
- Self check-in success message: You can add an optional message to show your clients when they have checked in successfully.
- In the Waiting locations section, you can add waiting locations from which clients can select when checking in. This is useful if you have several different waiting areas for clients and patients. To add a new waiting location, select the Add button. You can edit or remove waiting locations using the pen and trashcan buttons.
- You can ask clients to provide the patient's medical history before their appointment by asking preliminary questions in pre-registration. Because the questions are defined separately for different appointment reasons, you can add specific questions related to the nature of the appointment.
- Go to Settings > Items & Lists > Reasons and open a reason you want to add questions for.
- Scroll down to the bottom of the reason dialogue and select the + Preliminary question button.
- Type a question in the Question field, then select the + Preliminary question button again to add more questions.
Receive and Check Pre-Registration Data
A link to pre-registration and self check-in is included in the client appointment confirmation email and/or text message. Note the following:
- The client and the patient must exist in Provet Cloud before the client can use pre-registration. The client cannot add new patients using the pre-registration form.
- Make sure that a confirmation/reminder message is selected to be sent when creating an appointment.
- Make sure that a veterinarian has been selected for the consultation.
- If you want clients to answer preliminary questions before their appointment, make sure that the selected reason has preliminary questions set for it.
When the customer has filled in or updated their information using the pre-registration form (and the optional self check-in), you can review the information in Provet Cloud. You can do this in:
- Appointment dialogue (appointment calendar)
- Admission dialogue (when marking an appointment as arrived)
- Patient page
- Client page
The following message is shown on these pages:
- Select the Please confirm the data here link in the note. A pre-registration information dialogue opens. The information currently saved in Provet Cloud is shown on the left under Client data in Provet and Patient data in Provet. The information that the client has provided in pre-registration is shown on the right under New data provided by client. By default, only the fields that the client has provided updated information for are shown. If you want to view all client and patient information fields including those that the client has not changed, select Show all fields.
- To accept the client's updates, select the arrow buttons between the fields. If you want to accept all changes in one go, select the All arrow button at the top. The client's updates are copied to the Provet Cloud fields on the left. You can also edit the Provet Cloud fields manually if you want to make some changes to the information provided by the client (for example, correct a typo).
- To save the changes, select the Update button.
If you want to delete the client's updates entirely, select the Discard button. Note that once you confirm, you cannot retrieve the pre-registration information anymore.
Client's Guide: Using Pre-registration and Self Check-in
- Select the link to the pre-registration page in your appointment confirmation or reminder message (email and/or text message).
- The pre-registration page is prefilled with information available from your profile in Provet Cloud. Review the information and fill in the blanks or update the existing information if necessary.
- Answer any preliminary questions that may be included based on the reason of your visit.
- If self check-in is available, you can mark yourself as arrived and select a waiting location.
- When ready, select Send.