You may end up with duplicate clients in your Provet Cloud, for example, if you add the same client with a different name or address, or if you add too little information in the client profile. If you have duplicate client records in your Provet Cloud, you can merge the data from one client record to another. The merged client record is archived. If you need to revert the action, you can unmerge the merged clients. For how to avoid duplicates, see Avoiding Duplicate Clients.
See also Merging Patients.
Merging Two Clients
- Go to Clients & Patients and select the client you want to merge with another client. Note that the client to be merged cannot have unfinished consultations or unpaid invoices.
- On the client page, select Tools > Merge client. The Merge client records page opens. The client under Target client record will receive the data from the client under Client record to merge in the merge. The client under Client record to merge will be archived.
- Under Select general info to keep, select which general information you want to keep. By default, the target client information is selected. In the right-hand side panel, you can view all the data that will be merged. Note that financial data, such as invoices, payment cards and unallocated payments, is not merged. However, you can find the invoices of the merged client on the Clients & Patients > Invoices tab or on the patient's page after the merge.
- Select Merge in the bottom right-hand corner of the page and confirm. Information about the merge is saved in both clients' notes on the Communication tab.
If the merged clients share patients, the patients are duplicated in the target client's record in the merge. You can merge the duplicate patients.
Archived clients can be found on the Clients & Patients tab using the Archived filter. Archived clients are shown with a strikethrough.
- Find the merged client in Clients & Patients using the Archived filter and open the client page.
- Select Tools > Unmerge client. The Unmerge client records page opens. The merged data from Target client record will be returned to Client record to merge. In the right-hand side panel, you can view all the data that will be reverted.
- Select Unmerge in the bottom right-hand corner of the page and confirm.
Avoiding Duplicate Clients
When adding a new client to Provet Cloud, only the last name of the client or organisation name is required. However, you can avoid accidentally saving duplicate clients in the system by making sure you have filled in the following fields on the client page. When you save a new client, Provet Cloud checks these field and does not allow saving if another client with the same information already exists.
- ID number. This is the client's identity number from their proof of identity. It is different from the system ID number which is automatically generated and shown in parentheses next to the client’s name.
If the client's ID number is not available, you can also avoid duplicates by filling in all of the following:
- First name
- Last name
- Street address
- Post code
Please sign in to leave a comment.